Refelection on PLE Diagram

The Process of Creating My PLE Diagram

Screen Shot 2013-10-26 at 11.40.41 AM

The process involved with creating my diagram of my PLE was fairly simple in that I took screenshots of the icons of the networks and then imported the screenshots into Indesign. In order to post the diagram, I exported the diagram into a PDF.

I put myself at the center of the diagram, and then I sized the icons based on how much I access the networks. In other words, the larger the icon, the more I use that particular network. Next, I used solid lines to represent my connection with the networks, and then I used dotted lines to represent the interconnectedness of the sites. I imagine the interconnectedness will grow, but I wanted to demonstrate for myself where I am at right now in terms of my PLE.

What did you learn about yourself when looking at your PLE?

The first thing that I learned about myself as I created my diagram of my PLE was that I’ve come a long way since the beginning of this class when it comes to being involved in social media and actually forming a PLE! To be honest, I’m not sure I even knew what a PLE was. Not only do I see myself evolving, I see myself growing as an educator because I am inspired by educators from all over the world. I think what makes this new-found knowledge even better is the fact that I am not intimated anymore; I’m having fun, and I’m not “afraid” of making a mistake anymore!

Visit your classmates’ PLE posts. How does your PLE compare to other peers in class?

After viewing my classmates PLN, I noticed a lot more similarities than differences. For instance, at least five of the icons on each of the six PLE’s I examined were the same as mine, which basically tells me that these sites are both the most popular and the most conducive to our purposes as educational technologist. What gets interesting for me as I view these sites is the differences in terms of the content because this is where our personal interests and differing backgrounds come in. In other words, my PLE is pretty basic with icons that most educators will recognize, except maybe Diigo. This isn’t a bad thing; it just means that I’m just getting started in the construction of my PLE, while I am honored to learn with others who have a lot more experience than me.

For example, my classmate, Nona, is an obvious pro, and so her PLE is complex, so complex that she uses the arteries of the human body as a metaphor for her diagram. She incorporates Web 2.0 tools as well as social networking tools, and I didn’t even consider that, though I agree with her that 2.0 tools are also vital in what we, as 21st century educators, do everyday in our classrooms.

Daniel’s content is both personal and professional because his worlds overlap so much. In viewing his PLE, I truly get a sense of what his interests are and what he does for a living and that they are one in the same. I see a more personal connection to his content than I see in mine.

Rebecca’s 3D model consisting of building blocks and primary colors screams EDUCATOR, and while the apple with the soldier conquering it in front of the model isn’t necessary, it clinches the deal. Again, we have similar networks, but her model also incorporates eLearning, Green Education, and Project Based Leaning. I think Rebecca’s content demonstrates that she is definitely comfortable in PLE world; she is very much involved in social networking.

Jodi’s and Jason’s content is similar to mine, though Jodi incorporated a busy bee metaphor that I thought was really creative. Moreover, while Jason put himself at the center of the diagram like I did, Jodi is the buzzing bee throughout the diagram, and I think this definitely demonstrates the interconnectedness between herself and her networks.

Finally, Greg’s PLE diagram demonstrates his passion for Adobe connect and Adobe tools because they are vital in his work and in his life. He placed those at the center of his diagram and created a circle of networks around them, demonstrating an obvious hierarchy. For right now, my PLE just demonstrates which networks I use the most, but this will evolve for me, and I imagine that if I draw another PLE at the end of the semester, it will look more like a spiderweb, at least, that is my goal.

One thought on “Refelection on PLE Diagram

  1. […] The first thing that I learned about myself as I created my diagram of my PLE was that I’ve come a long way since the beginning of this class when it comes to being involved in social media and actually forming a PLE! To be honest, I’m not sure I even knew what a PLE was. Not only do I see myself evolving, I see myself growing as an educator because now more than ever I am inspired by educators from all over the world. I think what makes this new-found knowledge even better is the fact that I am not intimated anymore; I’m having fun, and I’m not “afraid” of making a mistake anymore! https://cynthiamills.wordpress.com/2013/10/26/refelection-on-ple-diagram/ […]

Leave a Reply

