Initial thoughts on Social Networking EDTECH 543

  1.  What are your initial reactions about joining these social networks for use in this course?

My initial reaction to joining these sites was that I felt enthusiastic.  Although I do use Facebook, I don’t use Twitter because when I initially signed up for it about two years ago, I was confused, so I dropped the entire notion of tweeting.  In addition, I have never used Diigo, so I am really excited to learn that interface.  Because I have to use both Twitter and Diigo for a class, I know I will master these interfaces and begin to discover ways in which I might be able to use these sites for my own teaching.

2.   What is your experience in using social media for your own professional development?  

 I never really thought about social media as a professional development tool.  If anything, I guess I have used Facebook to initiate a working relationship with a co-worker and build rapport.  There have been times when I have shared teaching ideas via Facebook with others, but I don’t do that very often.  Perhaps, I should. However, Using Edmodo had helped me grow professionally because not only has it increased my collaboration with peers and students, it has also been a useful tool for organizing lesson plans, sharing lesson plans, and discovering new ways to teach the same topics.

  1. What is your experience in using social media as an instructional strategy in your learning environment?

I have used Edmodo to manage several classes, and I have been very successful.  Although it was a bit difficult to “roll” it out in terms of training my students (and myself, for that matter), I find that the site is an excellent tool for immediate feedback, social interaction, and class management.

4.  What are your expectations for this course?

I’m excited for this class because I think it will involve hands-on learning; in addition, I really want to further my knowledge and experience in this genre, especially when it comes to implementing Twitter and Diigo. 

2 thoughts on “Initial thoughts on Social Networking EDTECH 543

  1. Angela Wilson Meek says:

    I’ve heard of Edmodo but never used it. How does it differ from social tools like Facebook and Twitter?

  2. bettyclev says:

    Hi Cynthia–
    I like your enthusiasm! Twitter totally confuses me–It took me about 3 hours of watching, stopping, re-watching the 16 minute Twitter instructional video to just sign up for it!
    Betty ( :

Leave a Reply

